Tags

, , , , ,

It’s been a long time coming but I’ve finally got around to my fourth and penultimate coffee post….

Last week I attended an awards ceremony for documentary film makers where the theme was one of social justice and contemporary moral issues facing society. We were lucky enough to be joined by the President (Uachtarán na hÉireann) who gave a very witty but quietly powerful speech. He quoted Welsh academic and left-wing theorist Raymond Williams:

Be the arrow, not the target.

It’s a deceptively simple sentiment but it gave me pause for thought over this equally simple but lovely espresso macchiato in my favourite Italian café…..

With my mind full of social justice issues, it seemed to me as I mulled it over that Williams is asking us to consider who are the rightful targets of our criticism, to whom should we direct our desire for change? And more obviously it serves as a warning not to become complacent, to always have a mind to others affected by our behaviour.

Note: The creamy substance beside the coffee is cremina, a frothy blend of espresso and sugar which can be added to sweeten in place of plain sugar.

